logo Québec

Ministère de la Sécurité publique

Aboriginal Nations Police Forces

Aboriginal nations communities are generally served by police forces created under sections 90 to 102 of the Police Act or, in certain cases, by special constables appointed under section 107 of that Act.

Whom Do They Serve?

There are 55 native nations communities in Québec. Of these, 44 are covered by agreements on the provision of police services, accounting for 80 % of the native nations population living in the Inuit and Amerindian communities in Québec.

Thus, all of Québec’s native nations communities are assured of being served by an aboriginale nations police force or by the Sûreté du Québec.

What is Their Mission?

To maintain peace, order and public security on the territory for which they have jurisdiction, to prevent and repress crime, as well as violations of the laws and regulations in force within that territory, and to investigate the perpetrators of such acts.

The police force and each of its members ensure the safety of persons and property, see to the protection of rights and freedoms, are respectful toward victims, are attentive to their needs, and give their support to the community.

The Sûreté du Québec (in French) plays a complementary role alongside the aboriginal nations’ police forces.

Dernière mise à jour : 24 avril 2013